top of page

DNR Impose Burn Restrictions on Minnesota

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources has restricted open burning in the following counties: Anoka, Benton, Chisago, Douglas, Grant, Hennepin, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Pope, Ramsey, Sherburne, Stearns, Stevens, Todd, Traverse, Washington, and Wright.

The restrictions come as warm temperatures and dry conditions have led to a number of grass and wildfires. The state will no longer issue burn permits for brush or yard waste until further notice.

“Escaped debris burns are the number one cause of wildfires, so that’s why we issue these restrictions,” said Casey McCoy, DNR fire prevention supervisor. “They really work—we’ve reduced wildfires by nearly a third since we started spring burning restrictions in 2001.”

The DNR encourages property owners to use other methods of yard waste disposal such as composting, chipping, or take brush to a collection site.

As conditions change, the DNR will adjust burning restrictions. Visit the DNR website for more information on conditions on open fire restrictions.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page