top of page

Mora Falls to Albany in the Section Semifinal

Mora battled against Albany in the section semifinal last night.

These two had played twice during the regular season, with Mora winning both matchups. The last time they played it was for the conference championship. Both games being won by a total of 5 points.

Last nights game looked to be similar to the first two. Defense was a huge factor in the 1st half. Though Mora had taken the lead early on and never relinquished it, Albany was within only a couple points of the lead. It wasn't until late in the 1st half Mora started to pull away. Garret Honstrom helped the Mustangs pull away as he had 4 blocks that gave them the ball back. The Mustangs had built a 10 point lead with six seconds left in the half, but Albany hit a 3 with no time left to cut their lead down to 7, 24-17. That three would prove to be a momentous turning point.

At the start of the 2nd half Albany had stolen all the momentum Mora once had. The Huskies offense couldn't be stopped and everything they put near the net was going in. Meanwhile, Mora's offense couldn't buy a basket they had officially gone cold. Albany slowly worked back and took over Mora's lead. The Mustangs would spend the next 9 minutes trying to not only take the lead back but also grab any momentum. But the Huskies did not let that happen. Albany was able to slowly but surely pull away and soon had themselves a 10 point lead. Mora did get some shots to fall, but as soon as they did Albany answered with one of their own or from the free throw line. The Huskies would topple the Mustangs 58-48. Although they trailed much of the 2nd half Mora never gave up and continued to fight until the final buzzer. Mora's season ends before they would've liked but finish with a 25-4 record which makes this the most winningest single season in their history.

Congratulations to the Mustangs on a great year!


Dallas Fix 13

Gage Braiedy 11

Max Sampson 10

Jonah Smart 6

James Oslin and Garret Honstrom 4


Carter Birr 15

Brady Goebel and Laque Jefferson 11

Tysen Gerads 10

Jordan Barker 5

Sam Hondl 4

Ethan Borgerding 2

75 views0 comments


bottom of page